GP Marupe 2023

The “Orange Dutch Army” dominates in UCI C1 race in Marupe, Latvia

Over the course of the weekend of 26th and 27th of August at the "BMX Mārupe" home track in Tīraine, two UCI C1 category BMX races took place. In thrilling fashion both days were dominated by the “Dutch Army” riders in both men and women elite. In the men's elite category, Dave van der Burg (NED) emerged victorious on the first day, while on the second day, another Dutch rider, Jaymio Brink (NED), claimed the triumph. In the women's elite category, both days were dominated by Judy Baauw (NED), multi-time World championship finalist, who left behind Vineta Pētersone (LAT).

The BMX Club Mārupe held true celebration of BMX at their home track over the weekend. The enthusiastic efforts of the local club representatives led to the organization of two UCI C1 category races. Alongside more than 400 Latvian athletes, high-level athletes from the Netherlands, Colombia, Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, New Zealand, Lithuania, Estonia, and Finland also participated.

On Saturday, athletes competed for the "GP Mārupe-1" awards and the 7th stage of the "CrystalDent BMX Latvian Cup". In the men's elite competition, the preliminary rounds were dominated by Jaymio Brink, who had made the World Cup finals twice this year. He secured two victories and one second-place finish. Mitchel Schotmann (NED) and Miguel Calixto (COL), as well as Kārlis Pedraudzis (LAT), each claimed one victory in their races.

In the grand final, the current Dutch elite champion and participant in the Tokyo Olympic Games, Dave van der Burg, took the top spot. Jaymio Brink followed in second place, while there was a battle for TOP3 spot, that was rounded out by Mikus Dāvids Strazdiņš ("AKSSC Valmiera/Tālava"/Latvia). In the U23 group, Rinalds Jānis Kārkliņš emerged as the winner, followed by Mārtiņš Emīls Treimanis and Kārlis Pedraudzis (all from "AKSSC Valmiera"/Latvia).

On the second day of competition, Brink secured victory in the grand final, while Schotmann and van der Burg claimed the other two spots on the podium. The best performance among our riders came from Kārlis Pedraudzis, who achieved fifth place among elite riders and won the U23 age group.

In the women's competition, the main favorite Judy Baauw remained unbeaten throughout both days. Latvian elite champion Vineta Pētersone secured two second-place finishes. Paula Kibare emerged victorious in the junior competition on both days, while Adrija Dārta Siliņa and Zane Andersone each secured a victory in the U23 competition.

In the junior boys' group, European champion Edgars Langmanis from "BMX Rīga/RRS" demonstrated his favorite status. Tonis Mugra from Estonia claimed second place, and another Estonian, Oliver Sten Saar, completed the TOP3.

Race video replay:

GP Marupe - 1  |  block 1
Saturday, August 26

GP Marupe - 1  |  block 2

Saturday, August 26

GP Marupe - 2
Sunday, August 27


GP Mārupe 2023 | 26.08.2023 | 1.block

Foto: Sanda Balode

GP Mārupe 2023 | 26.08.2023 | 2.block

Foto: Sanda Balode

GP Mārupe 2023 | 26.08.2023 | 2.block

GP Mārupe 2023 - 2 | 27.08.2023 | 1.block

Foto: Sanda Balode

GP Mārupe 2023 - 2 | 27.08.2023 | 2.block

Foto: Sanda Balode

Older videos:

2022.gada LK 1.posms

11.Mārupes BMX kauss (2022)

10.Mārupes BMX kauss (2021)

11.Mārupes BMX kauss (2022) - tiešraides ieraksts

2022.gada LK 1.posms - tiešraides ieraksts

11.Mārupes BMX kauss

Mūs atbalsta: